John Callahan, ‘All My Children’ and ‘Days of Our Lives’ Star, Dead at 66

Callahan’s death was not related to COVID-19, his rep said. However, current hospital guidelines meant Kaya and LaRue could only spend a short amount of time with Callahan before they had to leave. Hospital staffers told them of Callahan’s death just after midnight, his rep said.

The Davis Phinney Foundation Announces Webinar Series to Help People with Parkinson’s Live Well

“Pain and Parkinson’s” with Dr. Janis Miyasaki Monday, April 6 at 10 a.m. Mountain Time (9 a.m. Pacific, 11 a.m. Central, 12 p.m. Eastern) Social Connection with Dr. Al Condeluci Wednesday, April 15 at 11:30 a.m. Mountain Time (10:30 a.m. Pacific, 12:30 p.m. Central, 1:30 p.m. Eastern) Parkinson’s for Primary Care Doctors and Allied Health […]

US biotech firm says its pneumonia treatment could help save the lives of coronavirus patients by ‘cleaning up’ killer lung inflammation

But the downside is that BioAegis is a small company with limited funding. Dr DiNubile says the drug can be produced relatively quickly and efficiently, but it doesn’t have a large stockpile of the IV treatment at the ready. 

U.S. coronavirus cases surge past 100,000 as doctors protest over medical shortages

“We have hospital systems here in the Detroit area in Michigan who are getting to the end of their supply of ventilators and have to start telling families that they can’t save their loved ones because they don’t have enough equipment,” the physician, Dr. Rob Davidson, said in a video posted on Twitter.

As the rest of Europe lives under lockdown, Sweden keeps calm and carries on

While Tegnell understands that he will be blamed if Sweden ends up in a similar situation to that of Italy, he refuses to be panicked. “I wouldn’t be too surprised if it ended up about the same way for all of us, irrespective of what we’re doing,” he says. “I’m not so sure that what […]

Europe’s coronavirus death toll surges past 20,000, Chinese epicentre Wuhan partially reopens

As many as one-third of the world’s population is now living under lockdown and US President Donald Trump says he is considering placing New York state under “quarantine”, as the Chinese city where the outbreak began has begun to return to normality.

The Best TV Couple of the Past 30 Years, Round One: Philip and Elizabeth vs. Lena and Stef

The stakes of FX’s The Americans are so inherently higher than Freeform’s The Fosters, you have to wonder if Lena and Stef Adams Foster are at a deficit before we even begin. The former is made up of two sexy spies-slash-parents, Philip and Elizabeth Jennings, doing the best they can in the face of pressure […]

The Best TV Couple of the Past 30 Years, Play-in Round: Monica and Chandler vs. Ross and Rachel

And as high as the degree of difficulty is for teasing out a will-they-or-won’t-they romance like Ross and Rachel for ten freaking seasons, Monica and Chandler’s relationship also represents an admirably deft bit of writing. On any hit show that involves a coed group of friends, there’s going to be, by necessity, a bit of […]

The Best TV Couple of the Past 30 Years, Round One: Tami and Eric vs. Tony and Carmela

It’s hard to argue against Tony and Carmela as the more vivid and memorable couple, possibly because hell is more familiar and thus more provocative than heaven. But where Tony and Carmela show us what we might become if we’re lazy, blame each other, and let our fear rule our actions, Tami and Eric demonstrate […]

The Best TV Couple of the Past 30 Years, Play-in Round: Buffy and Angel vs. Buffy and Spike vs. Tara and Willow

Eventually, Buffy sends Angel to hell in order to save the world, which is kind of like the extreme version of deleting your ex’s number from your phone and blocking him on social media. But then, even more insultingly, he returns, but only occasionally, so there’s no chance for a clean break. Angel keeps hanging […]