NASCAR’s Friday schedule at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

NASCAR’s historic weekend at Indianapolis Motor Speedway begins today as both the Xfinity Series and IndyCar take to the track’s road course to prepare for their races Saturday on NBC.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway cuts number of fans allowed at the Indy 500

IndyCar champ Josef Newgarden ready to repeat 2019 IndyCar champion Josef Newgarden talks to Fox News Autos Editor Gary Gastelu about the challenges of defending a title in the competitive series and what it’s like behind the wheel of a car equipped with the new Aeroscreen safety device.

NASCAR’s Jimmie Johnson tests IndyCar at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Johnson has said he’s mainly interested in racing on street and road courses, rather than the more dangerous ovals. However he has left the door open to an attempt at the Indy 500 if the new safety technology being incorporated into the cars this season proves effective.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway bars fans from Indy 500 due to COVID-19 spike

The first inkling that Penske’s group was waffling came Monday when the speedway confirmed to the AP that the opening day of practice scheduled for next Tuesday had been scrapped. The first day of practice will now be Aug. 12. The only other change to the schedule right now is the elimination of the Pit […]

IndyCar weekend schedule for the GMR Grand Prix at Indianapolis

Team Penske has won five consecutive on the IMS road course, and two of the team’s drivers have accounted for victories in all six runnings of the GMR Grand Prix: Will Power (2015, ’17 and ’18) and Simon Pagenaud (2014 while with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports; ’16 and last season while racing for Penske). The past […]

Indianapolis 500 crowd will be limited to 50 percent capacity at Aug. 23 race

In a “Coffee With Kyle” sitdown on Jan. 31, Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Roger Penske told NBC Sports’ Kyle Petty that Indianapolis Motor Speedway had 230,000 seats, and that 78 percent of its ticket allotment had been sold, including all of the track’s suites.

Entry list for Saturday’s IndyCar Grand Prix at Indianapolis

Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud is the defending winner and also won the race in 2014 and ’16. Teammate Will Power won the race’s other three runnings in 2015, ’17 and ’18, giving Team Penske a five-race winning streak in the event.

Jimmie Johnson opens the door to racing at the Indianapolis 500

“But my great relationship with Chevrolet, they were understanding that laps for me in any experience that I can have in an Indy car is really the most important thing. Honestly any test date I can get, I want to take right now, just to get every lap that I possibly can, so thankful that […]

Will Power paces lone practice for GMR Grand Prix at Indianapolis

“There’s a rule in IndyCar you can’t impede someone on a hot lap,” Ferrucci told Burns. “I was six tenths down, and you can see him coming down the straight; he’s clearly on an out lap and warming his tires. Normally you check your mirrors. I thought he was going to wide in the corner, […]

Entry list for today’s IndyCar Grand Prix at Indianapolis

The race, which will be broadcast at noon ET on NBC, will be the first since the June 6 season opener that drew 24 entries at Texas Motor Speedway. Making their season debuts at Indy are Sage Karam, Spencer Pigot, Max Chilton and Dalton Kellet, who will be making his first IndyCar start.